SAHGF foundation
The South African Holocaust & Genocide Foundation

The South African Holocaust & Genocide Foundation (SAHGF) was established in 2007 in response to the incorporation of the study of the Holocaust into the National High School Curriculum. The SAHGF provides the educational and philosophical direction for the three Centres in South Africa, Cape Town (est. 1999), Durban (est. 2008) and Johannesburg (est. 2008) and is dedicated to providing support for the national curriculum through the development of classroom support materials and the facilitation of national in-service teacher training, adult programmes and seminars.

Through its public programmes, the SAHGF raises awareness of Holocaust history and other genocides and uses the platform of the Holocaust to focus on human rights issues in contemporary society. Through its efforts, the SAHGF aims to help address the issues of racism, antisemitism, bigotry and marginalisation which still plague post-Apartheid South Africa, and to promote social activism.

The SAHGF is registered as an educational trust and has Section 18A status in terms of the Income Tax Act of 1962.


Justice Richard J Goldstone

Professor Pumla Gobodo-Madikizela

Chief Rabbi Warren Goldstein

Professor Jonathan Jansen

Dr Stephen D. Smith

Revd Desmond M Tutu, Archbishop Emeritus



Julian Beare

Gerald Diamond (Chairman)

Prof Michael Katz

Mary Kluk

David Fine

Brian Moshal

Myra Osrin

Prof Milton Shain